svn delete — Delete an item from a working copy or the repository.
Items specified by
PATH are scheduled
for deletion upon the next commit. Files (and
directories that have not been committed) are
immediately removed from the working copy. The command
will not remove any unversioned or modified items; use
--force switch to override this
Items specified by URL are deleted from the repository via an immediate commit. Multiple URLs are committed atomically.
--force --force-log --message (-m) TEXT --file (-F) FILE --quiet (-q) --targets FILENAME --username USER --password PASS --no-auth-cache --non-interactive --editor-cmd EDITOR --encoding ENC --config-dir DIR
Using svn to delete a file from your working copy merely schedules it to be deleted. When you commit, the file is deleted in the repository.
$ svn delete myfile D myfile $ svn commit -m "Deleted file 'myfile'." Deleting myfile Transmitting file data . Committed revision 14.
Deleting a URL, however, is immediate, so you have to supply a log message:
$ svn delete -m "Deleting file 'yourfile'" file:///tmp/repos/test/yourfile Committed revision 15.
Here's an example of how to force deletion of a file that has local mods:
$ svn delete over-there svn: Attempting restricted operation for modified resource svn: Use --force to override this restriction svn: 'over-there' has local modifications $ svn delete --force over-there D over-there